Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

German Apple Pancakes

Leave a comment

Here is a recipe I got from my dear mother-in-law when I married my husband.  She was a warm and wonderful individual with a sweet spirit and generous heart.  She was inspiring in her battle against cancer, which she lost in 1994, 12 years after her initial diagnosis.  Susan will be in our hearts and minds forever.  I am sorry my children did not get to know her. She and her husband Frank raised four terrific boys who grew into wonderful, caring men.  This past February my father-in-law also passed away.  But the legacy is carried on.  Memories of them will not be soon forgotten.

German Apple Pancakes

  • 1 egg beaten (3 eggs)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt (1 1/2 tsp. salt)
  • 1/2 cup milk (1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/2 cup flour (1 3/4 cups)
  • 2 apples, peeled, and cored (6)
  • powdered sugar

Peel, core, and slice apples into rings.  In a medium bowl, mix the egg and salt together.  Add milk, then flour to make a thin batter.  Dip apple rings into batter and fry in oil over medium heat.  Sprinkle with desired amount of powdered sugar.  Keep warm if necessary. (amounts in original recipe – which would serve a household of 4 growing boys!)

This recipe was passed down from my husband’s grandmother who was a German immigrant.  Enjoy!

Pictures still to come.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

