Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Hawaiian Chicken

Leave a comment

Here is a simple to make; easy to eat chicken recipe.  I found this on allrecipes.  The sauce is sweet and tangy and pairs perfectly with the chicken and rice.  My family asks for this on a fairly regular basis.  Other than the 1 hour cooking time, it is a cinch to prepare!  This is simple enough for a child to prepare but sophisticated enough for the whole family to enjoy!

Hawaiian ChickenAllrecipes

Ingredients

  • 1 (10 oz) jar sweet and sour sauce (I like the simmering sauces)
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 4 Tbsp white wine (or chicken broth)
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 4 chicken breast halves, skinless, boneless

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400F (or put in crock pot and cook for 6-8 hours on low)
In a bowl, combine sweet and sour sauce, brown sugar, orange juice, white wine and melted butter/  Mix well.
Place chicken in a greased 9x13x2 baking dish (or in crock pot) and pour sweet and sour sauce mixture over chicken.  Bake at 400F for one hour.

Great served over garlic seasoned steamed rice.  (For the garlic rice: bring 2 cups water, 1 tsp salt, 1 Tbsp butter and 1 tsp garlic seasoning to a boil.  Add 1 cup rice.  Stir, cover and simmer over low heat for 15 minutes.  Turn off burner after 15 minutes and let sit another 15 minutes or more)  The garlic seasoning I like is “Lizzie’s Kitchen Oh So Garlic Seasoning”

Recipe Notes

I have made this several times and it is delicious!  It has become one of our regular recipes in the rotation.

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

