Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Leave a comment

Blueberry Butter Cake

This is a delicious coffee cake that uses blueberries.  I love to make it when I have fresh blueberries on hand (but frozen or even canned work with this). I have to warn you though, it is NOT diet food.  It used 3/4 of a pound of butter and is rich and creamy with the buttermilk in the mix.  It comes from the cookbook: The Black Dog Summer on the Vineyard Cookbook is a wonderful addition to my collection of cookbooks.

I have found it takes a little longer to bake in my oven.  I usually increase the cooking time by 10 minutes, but the ovens vary so check it at the 50 minute mark and decide if it needs more time (I typically turn off the oven and just let it sit in the oven the next 10 minutes and it turns out delicious)

Blueberry Butter Cake – Adapted from Black Dog Inn

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 cup butter, melted (2 sticks)
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3 cups fresh blueberries

Crumb Topping:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 lb cold butter, cut into bits (1 stick)
  • 1/2 Tbsp ground cinnamon

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray  a 9x13x2 baking dish with cooking spray.
Sift the dry cake ingredients together onto a large square of waxed paper, or whisk the dry ingredients together in a large bowl to eliminate clumps.
In a mixing bowl, mix together all the wet ingredients (not the blueberries).  Add the dry ingredients into the wet and mix until just blended.
Spread the batter into the prepared pan and sprinkle with all of the fresh blueberries.
In a smaller bowl, mix the dry ingredients for the crumb topping together until combined and cut in the butter (using your hands is the best method for this)  Sprinkle the butter topping over the batter (it is okay if it is not completely mixed the butter will melt into the cake and it will still be delicious.
Bake for about 50 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.  The cake should be moist, not dry.  After cooling, cut into big squares or rectangles.  Serve slightly warm with coffee. YUMMY!!

I find that this cake only gets better the second day and is especially good warmed up in the microwave (15-20 seconds) and best enjoyed with coffee.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

