Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Feta Pear Salad

Leave a comment

Here is another great salad that I submitted for Christmas Tea consideration.  Avocados add a wonderful creamy texture to the salad, but I was not sure that we would be able to find enough avocados to feed 600.  Just as I was saying that, one of our church members volunteered the avocado tree in their yard.  What a wonderful donation. Here is hoping they will be ripe when we need them (and enough for 600).  Thank you Esther.

I wish I could remember where I first found this recipe.  I collected so many recipes over the years and wish I could give credit where credit is due.  I have changed a few things to reflect personal taste, but it is a great recipe.  Thank you whoever you are!

Feta Cheese Pear Salad
Serves 6
Salad Ingredients:

  • 6 cups Spring Salad Mix
  • 1/2  pear, cored and chopped
  • 3/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1/2 avocado — peeled, pitted and diced
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions

Candied Pecans:

  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup pecans

For the Dressing:

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp Red wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp prepared mustard
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Black pepper, to taste

Instructions

Directions:
Candied Pecans:Heat a skillet over medium heat, stir 1/4 cup of sugar together with the pecans. Continue stirring gently until sugar has melted and caramelized the pecans. Transfer  the nuts onto waxed paper. Allow to cool, and break into pieces.
For the dressing, blend the oil, vinegar, 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar, mustard, chopped garlic, salt, and pepper.
For the salad: In a large serving bowl, layer lettuce, pears, feta cheese, avocado, and green onions. Pour the dressing over salad, sprinkle with candied pecans, and serve.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

