Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Chicken Salad

Leave a comment

When I have a lot of chicken salad left over, I love to make Pita Pocket Sandwiches.  Only problem was I had not purchased pita bread.  Just then my husband walked into the house from work.  He had stopped at Trader Joe’s on the way home and bought Pita bread and Hummus (they truly make some of the best purchased hummus available).  The Pita bread was intended for the Hummus, but I re-purposed  them for the Chicken Salad Pita Pockets.  I simply cut the Pita bread in half, carefully opened the pocket and stuffed it with about 1/3 cup chicken salad and added a few sliced tomatoes to give it some fresh flavors.

Chicken Salad

Serves 16 (1/4 cup servings)

  • 3 large chicken breast halves (boneless skinless- or skin on for more flavor)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise

Directions: Cook chicken in moderate heat oven (around 350) until cooked through and juices run clear.  I like to use skin on breast which are generously seasoned with salt and pepper and even a little garlic seasoning.  After the chicken is cooked discard the skin.  Allow the chicken breast to cool. Chop up to a coarse chop in a food processor (or by hand).  After it is fully cooled add almond slivers and mayonnaise.  Stir to combine.  Refrigerate to cool.

If you are making Pita Pocket sandwiches.  Cut the pita bread in half and carefully open the pocket.  Stuff with chicken salad and add tomatoes if desired. This recipe can be used for croissants, white bread, or even seasoned crackers.

NOTE: This chicken salad recipe was used for our church’s Christmas Tea and has nice classic flavor.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

