Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Deviled Eggs

Leave a comment

I never seem to be able to keep deviled eggs around the house very long.  They used to last a lot longer, but now my children have discovered them to be very good as well.  They are the ultimate picnic/ party food and are easy to make.

Of course, making deviled eggs starts with hard boiled eggs which leaves many people scratching their heads with the questions: “How long do I boil them? How do I prevent that green ring around the yolk?”  Let me answer that.  I learned these two simple tips from watching the Food Network.

Fill a pot with tap water.  Carefully place your eggs in the water. The water should cover the eggs. Bring the water to boil, when the eggs start gently knocking against each other, turn the burner off and cover the pot with a tight fitting lid.  Set the timer for 10 minutes.  When the time is up, fill a large bowl with some water and add ice to it.  Place the boiled eggs in the icy water (this prevents the browning process around the yolk).

Deviled Eggs

Yield: 24 deviled eggs

  • 12 eggs, hard boiled
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • Mc Cormick’s Salad Supreme (Paprika is nice too)

Directions:

Cut the hard boiled eggs in half length wise – tip to rounded end (to boil: place in a pot and cover with tap water, bring to boil, turn off heat, cover pot with a lid, let sit 10 minutes.  Cool eggs by shocking them in ice water to stop cooking).  Carefully remove the yolks into a small bowl.  Mash the yolks with a fork to crumble them.  Add the teaspoon of Dijon mustard and mayonnaise (1/4 cup at a time) and stir into the yolk to make them creamy.  When the egg yolks are nice and creamy.  Put them into a pastry bag and put a nice tip on the end for piping (if you don’t have a pastry bag, you can use any food storage bag, just cut a small corner off so you can pipe the yolk into the egg white shell.  Sprinkle with seasoning (I like to use Mc Cormick’s Salad Supreme- you can usually find it in the spice section of your supermarket). Arrange on a platter and enjoy.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

