Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Veal Parmesan

Leave a comment

This is my husband’s all time favorite meal.  The shame is that veal is not often found in restaurants anymore and many grocery stores stopped carrying it as well.  I do find veal at Baron’s Market.  My favorite use of veal is for Wiener Schnitzel (Viennese Breaded Veal Cutlets).  This week I made Veal Parmesan.  Breaded Veal Cutlets topped with Parmesan Cheese over pasta and served with your favorite spaghetti sauce (I really like Hunt’s Traditional Sauce when I don’t have time to make it from scratch).

Veal Parmesan

Serves 4

  • 3/4 lb pasta (like angel hair or spaghetti) cooked according to directions
  • 16 oz of your favorite spaghetti sauce
  • Grated Parmesan cheese
  • 4 veal cutlets, pounded thin
  • salt and pepper
  • flour
  • 2 eggs
  • dry seasoned breadcrumbs
  • Canola Oil/Vegetable Oil

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to boil (for pasta).
  2. While the water is heating, pound the veal cutlets until they are thin (1/8 inch).  Season the cutlets with salt and pepper, dip in the flour to coat.  Shake off excess.  Dip in beaten eggs.  Coat in breadcrumbs (if you wish stir in about 1/4 cup grated Parmesan into the breadcrumbs).  Heat about 1/4 inch canola or Vegetable oil in a large skillet until hot.
  3. Start cooking the Pasta in boiling salted water.
  4. Fry the cutlets, two at a time, about 2 minutes each side  or until golden brown.  Remove the cutlets to a platter and cook remaining two.
  5. To serve, place a bed of pasta on the plate, drizzle with heated spaghetti sauce.  Top with veal cutlet and grated Parmesan cheese.  Top with more sauce and more Parmesan cheese.  Enjoy.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

