Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Eggs Benedict

Leave a comment

If I was stranded on a deserted Island– I wish it was desserted 🙂 — this would be the food I would take with me!  Eggs Benedict has been a favorite of mine for years now.  When we eat out for breakfast, and this item is on the menu, I typically order it.  This is my ultimate comfort food.

What is the special occasion?  Well, my husband is working from home today – the kids are back in school– and I wanted Eggs Benedict- so, I made them.  Making my own Hollandaise is intimidating to me, so I cheat and use prepackaged sauce mix and it’s still quite delicious (Knorr Hollandaise Sauce Mix)  It isn’t the most amazing Eggs Benedict in the world, for that you would need to travel to the Bouchon in Vegas.  See Las Vegas Baby!

Eggs Benedict

Serves 2

  • 3 English Muffins, split and toasted (6 halves)
  • 6 slices of quality Canadian Bacon ( like Boar’s Head Brand)
  • 6 poached eggs (I fry mine)

For the Hollandaise:

  • I packet Knorr Hollandaise sauce mix
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 Tbsp butter (half a stick)

Preparation:

Cook the Knorr Hollandaise Sauce mix according to package directions, using the cup of milk and 1/2 stick of butter.  Bring to boil, whisking constantly.  Cook for 1 minute.  Turn off heat and use the sauce.

Place 3 English Muffin halves on each plate.  Place a slice of Canadian Bacon on each toasted English Muffin half.  Top with a poached or fried eggs. Pour Hollandaise sauce over the Eggs.  Serve with coffee.

Tip: To get the poached texture of fried eggs, I start them in a pan until the whites have set some, then I add a few Tablespoons of water to the edge of the pan and cover with a lid and it will give the yolks a poached look.  Just until the yolks have a film over them, then use them before the yolks cook completely through.  I learned this trick from my fellow blogger Pam at her site: For the Love of Cooking.  Thank you Pam.

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

