Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Buttered Potatoes

Leave a comment

In Austria, Buttered Potatoes are commonly found on the menu of restaurants.  It is comfort food to me.  My family also enjoys eating these little nuggets of goodness.  I like to use the Baby Potatoes (sometimes Baby Dutch Potatoes).  Pre-cook them in boiling water for about 12-15 minutes, or until fork tender.  Drain the water.  Let the steam evaporate for them to completely dry.  Add 3 Tbsp of butter and 3 Tbsp of olive oil to a hot skillet.  Add the baby potatoes and toss them in the butter.  Season with a few grinds of sea salt and sprinkle with parsley flakes (fresh or dried work fine).  If you like garlic add garlic powder.  Toss and stir the potatoes to coat from time to time and cook in the butter for a few minutes.  Serve.  They never last long at my house.  My husband circles my son’s plate like a vulture if he does not eat them all and then when no one is looking pops them into his mouth.  (I have eyes in the back of my head, so I know this).

Austrian Butter Fried Parsley Potatoes

  • 1 package Baby Yukon (Baby Dutch) Potatoes – even baby red potatoes will work, boiled until fork tender
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 – 1 1/2 tsp dried parsley flakes (or fresh if you have it)
  • Salt and pepper (Sea salt is lovely with this recipe)

In a large skillet, heat the butter and olive oil until hot.  Carefully add the cooked potatoes (make sure they are dry or they may splatter).  Toss to coat them in butter.  Add the salt, pepper and parsley flakes.  Cook for 5-10 minutes.  Serves 4-5.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

