Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Spaghetti Pie

2 Comments

Here is another allrecipes hit!  A dear friend of mine made it and posted the recipe on Facebook.   Of course we made changes to the original.  Here is the adapted version.

We were on our way to church yesterday, when one of my kids decided it was time to get sick – so home I went with sick kid and then had to figure out what to make for dinner – I had ground beef, onions, roasted peppers, ricotta cheese, and spaghetti- so I could make this dish.  I even had enough filling to make another one for a neighbor that just moved into the house next door.  She was appreciative.

Some changes that could me made are using Italian sausage instead of the ground beef, adding more spaghetti sauce to keep it moist.  It had good flavor and we will make it again.  Enjoy!

Spaghetti Pie

adapted from allrecipes

Serves 8

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz Spaghetti, cooked (I used Angel Hair)
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 lb ground beef (or Italian Sausage, Turkey sausage)
  • 1/4 cup chopped pepper (or roasted peppers from a jar)
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 – 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes
  • 6 oz tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 cups tomato sauce (next time)
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese (originally cottage cheese)
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Instructions:

Cook the pasta according to package directions.  Drain and place in the bottom of a 10″ pie dish. While the pasta is still hot stir in the 2 Tbsp butter, 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese and 2 eggs and combine.  I would also stir in 1 cup of spaghetti sauce into the pasta after you combine the egg, Parmesan and butter with the spaghetti.

Cook the ground beef or Italian Sausage in a large skillet with the chopped peppers, onions and cook until the meat is browned.  Drain the fat.  Add minced garlic, salt, pepper, dried oregano, and crushed red pepper flakes;  cook mixture for another two minutes.  Add can of diced tomatoes and tomato paste as well as remaining 1/2 cup of spaghetti sauce.  Heat the mixture through.

Dollop the spaghetti in the pie pan with ricotta (or cottage cheese) and spread out over the pasta.  Top with meat mixture.  Sprinkle the top with Mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses.

Bake in a preheated oven, at 350F for 20-30 minutes.  Enjoy with a green salad and garlic rolls.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Pie

  1. I made this again and added more sauce to the spaghetti and made it with mild Italian Sausage — really really good! (plus I made it in a 13x9x2″ baking dish because it makes so much) Must try this version!

  2. Enjoy alright! I love a spagh pie every now and then and I think the now is coming very soon after seeing this recipe.

Leave a Reply

