Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Thai Chicken Soup

1 Comment

I was looking through the most recent issue of the Food Network Magazine (November 2010) and saw a recipe for Thai Chicken Soup that sounded good.  They have the recipe on their website (link).

I made it tonight and it was very good.  I would make a few changes next time though to increase the flavor – I would cook the chicken with the onions and curry sauce and then remove them from the soup and add the meat at the end for more flavor.  I would also increase the green curry paste by at least 1 tablespoon.  The addition of fresh ginger would also be good. (The recipe below reflects the changes I would make.)

Thai Chicken Soup

Serves 4-6

adapted from Food Network Magazine (Nov. 2010)

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbps vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbsp green curry paste
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ginger grated
  • 2-3 small skinless, boneless chicken breasts (about 1 pound), very thinly sliced crosswise
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 15-ounce can coconut milk
  • 2 Tbsp fish sauce, plus more to taste
  • 2 red bell peppers, thinly sliced
  • 4 ounces thin rice noodles, broken into pieces
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lime juice, plus more to taste
  • 1 cup roughly chopped fresh cilantro

Directions
Heat the vegetable oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, occasionally stirring, until softened and lightly browned, about 8 minutes. Add the garlic and curry paste, and ginger and cook, stirring, 1 to 2 minutes. Add the chicken breast slices and cook in the curry sauce, until cooked through about 3 minutes.  Remove the chicken and set aside to add back into the soup just before serving.  Add the chicken broth, coconut milk and fish sauce; cover and bring to a boil.

Add the bell peppers and noodles and simmer, uncovered, until the noodles are al dente, about 3 minutes. Add the seasoned chicken and heat through, about 1-2 more minutes. Stir in the lime juice and cilantro. Add more fish sauce and lime juice, if desired.

SERVES: 4

Recipe Notes
I made this October 2010 after seeing it in the Thanksgiving edition of the Food Network Magazine (Nov 2010) and we liked it a lot.  Good soup.  Break the rice noodles into smaller pieces so it is easier to serve (and eat).  With the changes I made, I think it will be even more flavorful.  I served this with some reheated crusty French Bread.

 

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

One thought on “Thai Chicken Soup

  1. I love Thai food – the soup looks and sounds terrific!

Leave a Reply

