Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Roasted Chestnuts

Leave a comment

I remember walking along the streets of Salzburg, Austria in the winter season and sampling the roasted chestnuts that street vendors sold.  It was a nice treat for the winter season.  In the United States, it seems, we only sing about chestnuts roasting over an open fire, but few have made them or even tasted them.  As I went through my local market to buy the ingredients I needed for Christmas dinner, I saw them and they had a helpful sign that gave instructions on how to roast them.  I took a quick picture of it, because I knew in the hustle and bustle of Christmas preparation I would forget the specifics.

Roasted Chestnuts:

Preheat your oven to 425 F and clean the chestnuts.  Carve an X with a knife, being sure to puncture the skin of the chestnut completely (I found this easiest to do at the top of the chestnut, where it tends to be softer than the rest and has done the job for me — other sites recommended on the side, but I came close to cutting off my fingers and I am rather attached to them thank you!).  Place the chestnuts in a pie pan and bake for 25 minutes.  Allow to cool and peel while still warm.  You can serve them with melted butter and salt or cinnamon.  My husband finds them a little tedious to peel, but once peeled finds them delicious.  Try them and you will like them, but they are a bit pricey.  Well worth it for an occasional treat.

A Pun for the Season:

A group of chess enthusiasts checked into a hotel, and were standing in the lobby discussing their recent tournament victories. After an hour, the manager came out of his office and asked them to disperse.  “But why?”they asked, as they moved off.  “Because,” he said, “I can’t stand chess nuts boasting in an open foyer!”

 

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

