Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Cream of Broccoli Soup

Leave a comment

I love this recipe because you can make any cream soup you want from it.  It has a wonderful base. It is adapted from Bob Pastorio’s Cream of Anything Soup.  I found it through A Cook’s Book Food Forum (mac cooking software forum) which I have been part of for a few years now.

Here is my adaptation:

Cream of Broccoli Soup

inspired by Bob Pastorio’s Cream of Anything Soup

Serves 8-10

Ingredients:

  • 1 (4 oz) package diced pancetta
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 6 oz butter
  • 6 Tbsp flour
  • 2 (48 oz) boxes Swanson’s Low Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 1 lb broccoli (or other ingredient)
  • 1 cup cut up leftover ham
  • cut up left over cooked baby potatoes
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 tsp salt (optional to taste)

Preparation:

Cook the pancetta until crisp and set bacon aside.  I drained the fat to reduce some calories (there are plenty to follow!).  Next, melt the butter in a pan and cook the onions and diced carrots until the onions are translucent but not browned.  Add flour and stir to cook.  Whisk in the chicken broth slowly, stirring briskly to break up any lumps.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cook for 15 minutes.  Add in the broccoli (or whatever you choose), diced ham, baby potatoes and cook for another 20-30 minutes over low (do not put the lid on it fully, keep it off center a little to vent so it does not boil over.  Stirring occasionally.  Just before serving add in the heavy cream and add the cooked bacon.  Season with salt if needed and serve with biscuits or fresh crusty bread.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

