Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Sweet and Spicy Macadamia Chicken

Leave a comment

A long time friend recently posted on Facebook that she had made a Sweet and Spicy Cashew Chicken for dinner.  I and several others begged her for the recipe and she sent it to me.   Now she does not say what she is having but says it is yummy.  I think she is tired of sending her friends her best recipes.  I am glad however that she shared this one with me, because it was an instant favorite.  I made a few changes – changed the nut to Macadamia from Cashew (only because I had them on hand) and added baby bok choy because they sounded like they would be a nice addition to this recipe- It was.  My daughters thought it would also taste good with Shrimp and I agree it would, but it would need less cooking time.  I would start cooking the shrimp with the garlic and when they are pink remove them from the wok, cook the other ingredients and then add them back in once the sauce comes to a boil.

She shared with me the original source of the recipe and you can find it here.  Thank you Doris! This recipe is a keeper.

Sweet and Spicy Macadamia Chicken

adapted from Best of Bridge Sweet and Spicy Cashew Chicken

Book Reference – The Best of the Best – Vol. 1 (Page: 200), Grand Slam (Page: 148)

Serves 6

Ingredients:
Sauce

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 4 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 3-4 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth

Stir Fry Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 whole boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes (shrimp would be really nice in this dish as well)
  • 1/4 cup oil (peanut oil if no one has a peanut allergy)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. minced fresh ginger
  • 1 Tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 red peppers, cut in strips (I used one red and one yellow)
  • 2 carrots, thinly sliced into matchsticks (they could be coins, but my family likes softer carrots)
  • 2 cups snow peas
  • 3 baby bok choy, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups cashews
  • sprinkling of sesame seeds, toasted

Instructions:
Combine all the sauce ingredients and set aside for later use.

In a bowl, combine cornstarch, sugar and salt. Add chicken cubes and toss to coat.

Heat wok or frying pan to highest heat. Add oil (I used Peanut oil). Heat to hot, not smoking. Add chicken, ginger, garlic and onion. Stir until chicken is opaque (about 1 minute). Add peppers and carrots. Stir 2-3 minutes. Add snow peas, bok choy and sauce. Cook until sauce comes to a boil. Add cashews and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Serve immediately over hot cooked rice.

Serves 6.

Printable Recipe

 

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

