Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Mini-Bacon Meatballs

Leave a comment

Mini-Bacon Meatballs — I know that brings you visions of Heaven right?  Well, almost! 🙂 These are used in the Meatball Soup that I posted (link)  My husband thought these are a shining star!  Yes, I agree they are quite good!  I doubled the recipe but wished that I had quadrupled it.  The meatballs are Tablespoon size scoops that cook quickly and are easy to make.  A little prep work of course is necessary, but well worth it.  I actually wish I had made the meatballs a little smaller for the soup, but this would be a nice size for Spaghetti and Meatballs, or Sweet and Sour Meatballs, or Meatballs in a sauce for a Superbowl party… let your imagination go wild.  These are very versatile.

Mini-Bacon Meatballs

Cuisine at Home April 2010 issue page 48 (28-1″ meatballs)

  • 2 strips of bacon, diced
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 lb ground beef (sirloin)
  • 1/4 cup dry plain bread crumbs
  • 2 Tbsp minced fresh parsley
  • 1/2 tsp paprika (I used smoked paprika)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt (larger grain than table salt)
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten

Preparation:

Preheat your oven to 400F and spray your broiling pan with non stick cooking spray.

Cook bacon over medium high heat until it begins to crisp.  Remove the bacon to paper towels to allow to drain.  Remove all but 1 Tbsp bacon fat from the pan.  Cook the onion in the bacon fat over medium heat until it is softened, about 3 minutes.  Add garlic and cook for an additional minute.

Combine the cooked bacon and onion-garlic mixture (I allowed it to cool some first) with the beef, bread crumbs, chopped parsley, paprika, salt and pepper in a large bowl.  Mix together with a wooded spoon until well combined.  Add the beaten egg once the mixture seems evenly mixed.

Form the meat mixture into 1 inch balls (I found a 1 Tbsp measurement to be perfect) roll in your hands to make them round.  Place the meatballs on the prepared broiling pan.  Bake at 400F for 10 minutes.  Check meatballs and cook longer if needed.  I found 10 minutes was the right amount of time, but if your meatballs are larger they may take another few minutes.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

