Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Turkey Burgers

Leave a comment

Turkey burgers – you don’t like them because they are dry and lack flavor.  Well, these will change your mind about them.

These have wonderful flavor and are moist as well.  Serve on a bun with sliced tomato and pickle and a smear of mayo.  Yum.  I had to take my son to kids choir and my husband and two daughters had the four leftover burgers for dinner and they liked them even better the second day. (They were fully cooked the day before and just warmed up in the microwave)  These also freeze well.  I like to cook my onions, because I do not like the taste of raw onion.  I used a sweet Walla Walla Onion this time, but any onion will do the job.  Red onions would also be very nice in this burger.  I feel the onions add moisture to the burger once they are cooked.  The egg you could use egg whites, but I think they hold together better with yolk.  Substitute fresh parsley for the dried if you have it on hand.  I think basil would also be very nice in this burger.  I hope you enjoy.

Juicy Turkey Burgers

Serves 10-12

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 lbs ground turkey (mix of white and dark meat)
  • 1/4 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 2 Tbsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1/2 tsp McCormick Grill Mates (Montreal Steak) seasoning
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 large eggs
  • 10-12 large burger buns, toasted

Instructions:

Heat a small skillet over medium high heat and cook the onions in olive oil until they are tender, about 3-5 minutes.  Add minced garlic and cook for one more minute.  Allow to cool a bit.

In the meantime, combine the ground turkey, bread crumbs, parsley, seasonings, and Worcestershire and soy sauce.  Add the cooled onion mixture and stir to combine.  Beat the two eggs and add to the meat mixture.  Stir to combine everything together.  Heat a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat.  Add 1 tsp olive oil.  Shape the meat into 10-12 patties. Cook over medium high heat for about 5 minutes each side, or until they are no longer pink in the center.  Top with cheese if desired, but they are quite delicious just with mayonnaise and tomatoes.  I served them on toasted burger buns.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

