Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

BLT Salad

Leave a comment

This salad is once again from allrecipes.com.  It is called “That good salad” (link) but in essence, it is a BLT salad that is quite good.  I had just gotten a box or organic vegetables from a vegetable co-op and had most of the ingredients on hand.  There is nothing quite like fresh – really fresh veggies!  I followed the recipe almost exactly.  I may change up the dressing a little the next time, as it was not seasoned very well, but once I put it over the salad, it did not detract from the flavors of the salad; it did not overpower the salad.  I will be making this salad again and again.  I halved the recipe from the original – if you are taking a salad to a potluck, do make the full recipe.

BLT Salad

adapted from allrecipes.com

Serves 6

Dressing ingredients:
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/8 cup fresh lemon juice
1 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
Salad Ingredients:
1 head romaine lettuce – rinsed, dried,and torn into bite-size pieces
1 large chopped tomato
1/2 cup shredded Swiss cheese
1/3 cup slivered almonds, toasted
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
4 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled
1/2 cup Caesar salad croutons
Preparation
  1. Combine the dressing ingredients in a small shaker style salad dressing container. Shake to combine. Chill.
  2. Toss the salad ingredients in a large salad bowl. (Reserve croutons for last moment).  Shake the dressing and pour over the salad, toss.  Add croutons on top and serve immediately.
Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

