Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Herb-Stuffed Red Peppers

Leave a comment

You guessed it: allrecipes again!  It has been so hard to return to blogging (and cooking) after taking a great vacation!  That does not mean I have not cooked at all since returning, it means I have not cooked with the intent to blog it.  Here is another good recipe.  I have another stuffed pepper recipe we like a little better, but this was not bad! This recipe only served 2.  I doubled the stuffing and used 4 bell peppers.  I still had some filling left over. I did make a few other changes. And I would omit the cayenne pepper for the children.  They thought it was spicy.  My husband and I enjoyed it however.

Herb-Stuffed Red Peppers

adapted from allrecipes.com

Serves 6

  • 4 large sweet red peppers, sliced length wise and cleaned
Filling:
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1  chopped onion
  • 3 cups cooked basmati brown rice
  • 1 Tbsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, optional
  • 1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 4 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tsp dried basil
Topping:
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
Preparation:
  1. Cook brown rice according to package directions.  You could use any brown rice, I like the texture that the brown Basmati rice gives the dish.
  2. Slice the bell peppers from top to bottom and remove stem and seeds and ribs (the white part of the pepper).  Lay them cut side down on a microwave safe plate and microwave for 3 minutes to soften.  Place the peppers in a large casserole (like little boats).
  3. Preheat oven to 350 F
  4. Prepare the filling: In a large skillet, cook the ground beef and onions until the meat is no longer pink and the onions are tender.  Drain any fat.  Add remaining ingredients and stir to combine.  Heat through. Ladle the filling into the prepared peppers.  Sprinkle the tops of the filled peppers with the Parmesan or Romano cheese.
  5. Cover the casserole with foil and cook for 30 minutes at 350F.  Remove the foil and cook another 10 minutes to melt the cheese.  Serve with a salad.
Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

