Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Oven Roasted Tri-Tip

Leave a comment

Tri-Tip was on sale last week and I bought it, because it was cheaper than ground beef.  I never made tri-tip before.  Our barbecue needs some work done on it, so I wanted an oven version of it.  Having read up a little on tri-tip, I found it needed some time to marinate with seasonings before cooking it to impart flavor.  One recipe suggested cutting slits in the roast and putting whole cloves of garlic – I liked that idea!  Nothing wrong with keeping Dracula at bay!

Becky’s Oven Roasted Tri-Tip

  • 2 1/2 lb beef tri-tip with a fat cap on one side (this protects it from drying out)
  • 6 cloves of garlic cut in halves
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp garlic pepper seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp dried ground chili
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

Preparation:

  1. Place the tri tip in a large glass Pyrex dish.  Cut slits in the Tri-tip and insert the garlic clove halves in various places. Combine the spices in a small bowl and mix them.  Coat the trip tip on both sides with the spice mix.  Drizzle some olive oil over both sides of the roast. Cover the tri-tip roast with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.
  2. Remove the beef about 2 1/2 hours before you want to eat.  Allow the roast to sand for 2 hours to come to room temperature.
  3. Preheat the oven to 450F.  Place the roast (fat side up) on the rack of a shallow roasting pan.
  4. Roast for 20 minutes and begin checking the internal temperature. (115-120F for rare; 120-125F for medium rare; my family likes it medium: 130F) My roast took 30 minutes of roasting time for medium.  I let it rest for 15 minutes.  I served it with a quick pan sauce (1 cup beef broth, 1/2 cup red wine, 1 Tbsp Dijon mustard and a slurry of cornstarch) and boiled potatoes with herbs. Slice the Tri-tip thinly at a bias.

Our whole family enjoyed this.  Why did I wait so long to make tri-tip?

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

