Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Tomato-Cheese Ravioli Soup

Leave a comment

This comforting soup is from a Cooking Light Cookbook that I own. It is the 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Cookbook (1999) by Cooking Light. I love the simplicity of the recipes in the book.  I whipped this up for lunch for my husband and I.  I changed it up a little, adding yellow squash and a little Parmesan Cheese to serve;  I also nearly doubled the recipe because I like left overs and the kids thought they wanted to have some- then they changed their mind and I had extra extra.  It is an easy recipe to make however and best of all ready in a snap!

Tomato-Cheese Ravioli Soup

Serves 6

adapted from Cooking Light 5 Ingredient 15 Minute Cookbook pg 81

Ingredients:

  • 2 (14 1/2 oz) cans stewed tomatoes
  • 3 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 large package refrigerated Buitoni 5 cheese ravioli (family size)
  • 1 small zucchini
  • 2 small yellow squash
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • Parmesan cheese

Preparation:

Combine the stewed tomatoes, chicken broth, basil and oregano.  Bring to a boil and cover, reducing the heat.  Simmer for about 5 minutes.  Add your ravioli, zucchini, yellow squash, and ground pepper.  Bring to a boil again.  Reduce the heat again and cover to simmer for about 8 minutes.  Ladle the soup into bowls and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and a grind of freshly ground pepper.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

