Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Grilled Asparagus

Leave a comment

I love asparagus!  I think it is one of the best veggies around.  When asparagus is readily available, I smile.  Two years ago though, I started to develop an allergy to it.  I first noticed that when I would eat asparagus my scalp would be itchy for about an hour after eating them.  I figured maybe it was because I ate canned asparagus that time.  Maybe it was the solution they can it in.  So I rinsed them and ate them- still an itchy scalp.  Okay.. maybe I can eat fresh.. nope.. itchy scalp.  But hey an hour later I am feeling fine again right?.. it is a small price to pay!  I continued to eat asparagus from time to time.. only each time I ate them, my allergy would get more severe.  Now I break out in full time hives, so I don’t eat it as often.  Recently I got a box of organic produce and it had asparagus in it.  Of course.. now that I had it, I had to eat it right?  It is after all, asparagus!  I popped a Benadryl before starting to cook.  After eating only two spears of asparagus,I still was itchy, but I didn’t get hives!  Sniff.  I am getting itchy as I write this 😉  I sure hope I don’t develop an allergy to Avocado- or worse yet: bacon!  That would be the worst! 🙂

Preparation:

Wash the asparagus and remove about 1/2 inch of the stem if it is woody, otherwise just trim the ends.  Mine were small and not at all woody, so they only needed a trim.

I heated a grill pan and placed the asparagus on it.  Drizzled them with olive oil and seasoned with ground sea salt and ground pepper.  Turning them every few minutes until they looked grilled with a few char marks.  Place on a platter and season with additional salt and pepper.  Serve.  Enjoy (them for me- for I will be taking a break from eating them again).

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

