Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Crock Pot Shredded Beef for Tacos

Leave a comment

It has been HOT here.. really HOT (well over 100 F)- and I wanted good food that did not heat up my kitchen.  Out comes my trusty crock pot. I adapted a recipe from the Food Network to make this recipe (link).  Serve with Spanish rice and Guacamole.

Crock – Pot Shredded Beef (for Tacos)

adapted from Brian Boitano (Carne Asada Tacos with Green Salsa)

Carne Asada:

  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 2 (15 oz) cans whole tomatoes, broken up with juice
  • 1 large Jalapeno pepper, sliced, seeded and white ribs removed
  • 1 large onion, coarsely chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic sliced
  • 2 1/2 to 3 lbs sliced beef round roast
  • 2 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ground pepper

Preparation:

Place all the ingredients in a crock pot.  Cook on high heat for 5-6 hours, stirring occasionally.

Shred the beef with two forks and pour about 1/2 cup of the liquid over it for moisture.  Serve with flour tortillas, cheese, sliced tomatoes, lettuce with Spanish rice and fresh guacamole on the side.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

