Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Breaded Goat Cheese

Leave a comment

I recently had breaded goat cheese slices in a salad at a restaurant.  After I researched the process, I discovered that they are so easy to make.  I decided to make them last weekend when our friends Mike and Anneke came to visit us with their children.  We do not get to see them very frequently, so our time with them was sweet.  I decided that since I had goat cheese, that I would try this new technique.  It is super easy to make.  The hardest part is slicing the goat cheese as it has a tendency to crumble like Feta does.  One site recommended using dental floss, but since I only had mint flavor, I passed and used a sharp knife which worked out okay.  These can be made ahead and then added to your salad later – they would also be even more fantastic warmed a little just before serving.

Panko Crusted Goat Cheese

(for salad) goodcookbecky

Ingredients:

  • 1 log goat cheese, sliced into 1/2 inch slices
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup Panko breading
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter

Preparation:

Dip the goat cheese rounds into the egg and then coat in the Panko breading (Japanese style bread crumbs that you should be able to locate at your well stocked grocery store in the International isle).  Melt the butter with the olive oil in a small non stick skillet over medium high heat and fry the breaded goat cheese on both sides until golden brown. Remove to a paper towel and refrigerate until dinner time if making ahead – otherwise just add to the salad and eat.  It is a very nice addition for a quick change.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

