Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Magic of Ammonia

1 Comment

I discovered Pinterest a few months ago and no one has seen or heard from me since.  One of the pins that I saw suggested placing grimy disgusting looking stove top burner grates in a bag with a 1/2 cup of ammonia overnight (outdoors to prevent fumes) and the dirt and grime is more easily cleaned… I have spent hours in the past trying to remove some of that crud from mine that I have very badly abused… and had given up on, to the point of almost buying replacement grates, as one year I allowed orange marmalade that I was making to boil over onto the burners and had left a scorched spot on my burner plate as well.  I tried this ammonia in a bag (a garbage bag will do the trick – I happened to have 2 gallon size zip-lock freezer bags that did the trick) and you don’t need to submerge them in ammonia it is the fumes that actually do the loosening up of grime.  I hesitate to post the before picture because.. well how could I let my burner grate get this bad?  I did have to use some steel wool to get the serious spots off, but that is because mine were so bad, – but if yours look that bad, there is hope! 🙂 (and I am not alone, but you don’t have to humiliate yourself publicly like I am doing! Hehe) The results speak for themselves:

Before

After

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

One thought on “Magic of Ammonia

  1. Cool to know…don’t need at the moment cause we got a new stove with the “flood” but, I’m already wanting to not every let it get to what our old stove looked like…hasards of being a cook…someone who actually uses their stove 🙂 anyway I know I can pass the info on thanks for sharing…

Leave a Reply

