Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Chorizo and Chicken Stew with Avocado Crema

Leave a comment

I downloaded the Williams Sonoma e-book of soups – it features a soup for every day of the year. The soup featured on September 23 sounded interesting to me and here is my adaptation. I used different peppers (Anaheim peppers instead of red bell pepper, but in hindsight I should have roasted the peppers and skinned them rather than chopping them and adding them to the soup). Instead of cooking my own chicken I used a already cooked rotisserie chicken from the local market.

Chorizo and Chicken Stew with Avocado Crema

Adapted from Williams-Sonoma Soup Of the Day Cookbook Sept 23

Serves 6

  • 2-3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken
  • 1/2 lb Mexican chorizo, cooked and drained
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Anaheim chilies, roasted and peeled, and chopped
  • 6 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the Avocado Crema

  • 1 avocado, pitted, peeled, and mashed
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lime juice

In a large sauce pan, heat the oil over medium heat and add the onion, saute for about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant for about one minute longer.  Add the Anaheim chili and cook for another 3 minutes.  Add the shredded chicken, chorizo, broth and seasonings and simmer them for 15 minutes.

To make the Avocado Cream: Combine the avocado, sour cream and lime.

To serve: Ladle the soup into bowls and top with a tablespoon of the avocado cream.  Garnish with a lime wedge.

Printable Recipe

 

 

 

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a comment