Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Leave a comment

My daughter asked for Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins one morning.  I of course knew where to turn: Pinterest and my many pins!  The pin led to this link. I followed the directions exactly – but was disappointed in the baking time they recommended – they  muffins were seriously over-baked and dry. The next time I made them, I reduced the cooking time to 15-18 minutes and was much happier with the results.  It is not as chocolatey as the ones you can get at Costco – or the like, but they are still quite good.  Here is my adaptation:

Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Muffins

adapted from Ingredients, Inc (see link above) Makes 1 dozen regular sized muffins

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3 Tbsp cocoa powder
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup mini semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup 2% milk
1/4 cup sour cream
1/3 cup plus 2 tsp canola oil
1 egg
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
additional mini chocolate chips to sprinkle the tops of the muffins before baking.
Directions:
Preheat oven to 400F.
Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder, sugar and chocolate chips in a medium sized bowl.
In a separate bowl, combine the milk, sour cream, canola oil, egg, and vanilla.  Whisk to combine.
Add about 1/2 of the flour mixture into the liquids and stir to combine, using a spatula.  Add the remaining flour and incorporate it into the batter.
Using an ice cream scoop, fill the muffin cups (lined ones- or spray the muffin tin with a non stick spray like Pam)
Sprinkle the tops of the muffins with additional mini chips if you have them on hand (about a teaspoon per muffin).
Bake for 15-18 minutes. (originally 20 minutes, but I found that to be too long for this preparation)
Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

