Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Pumpkin Soup

Leave a comment

IMG_6359I recently had oral surgery to remove, what was believed to be a tumor, and have been limited to soft foods for the past 3 weeks.  Thankfully is was not a tumor.  It was scar tissue from the last time I had oral surgery to remove the tumor I had 14 years ago.  The first time my pain levels were through the roof.  This time, despite it being a bone graft and fairly invasive, it was minimal in comparison.  I even ran my first 5 k in my recovery period.  I digress.  I  made a few amazing soups.  Pumpkin Soup being one of them.  I found this gem of a recipe on Pioneer Woman’s website.  I have followed her blog for several years, and am glad she now has a spot on the food network line up. I increased the broth because that was the size of the broth I bought.

You can find her original recipe here (link)

Pumpkin Soup

Serves 6 adapted from Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

  • 2 small pumpkins (the ones used for cooking- I use Sugar pumpkins)
  • 6 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup Maple syrup
  • 1/2 a nutmeg grated
  • salt to taste
  • extra cream for serving

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Cut the pumpkins tops off.  Scoop out the guts.  Save the seeds for roasting if desired, but you do not need them for this recipe.  Cut the pumpkins into quarters and drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper (unless you are roasting them for pie).  Place the pumpkin pieces on a foil lined cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 F for 45 minutes or until the flesh of the pumpkin is tender when you piece it with a fork.  Allow to cool some.  Scrape the pumpkin flesh off the skin using a large serving spoon and set aside for the soup.

Combine the pumpkin flesh, chicken broth, and maple syrup in a large stock pot.  Season with salt and nutmeg.  When it is heated through, blend the soup either in a blender or with an immersion blender (my favorite kitchen tool).  Add the cream and stir through.  Taste and adjust the seasonings if necessary.

Ladle the soup in individual bowls and drizzle additional cream in each bowl if desired.  Enjoy!

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

