Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Asian Slaw with Spicy Peanut Dressing

Leave a comment

IMG_6889Pinterest strikes again… I made this Asian Slaw yesterday for lunch, but the dressing did not impress me.  Today I made it again, but used a dressing I made with  Yard House’s Norwegian Salmon.  It was perfect. The dressing yields about 2 cups, so I save the dressing to use with chicken later in the week. This recipe is inspired by:

http://www.scalingbackblog.com/savory-bites/day-3-crunchy-cabbage-salad-with-spicy-peanut-dressing/

and

http://blogs.miaminewtimes.com/shortorder/2009/06/yard_house_recipe_for_ginger_c.php

Here is my rendition:

Asian Slaw with Spicy Peanut Dressing

goodcookbecky  Serves 4

For the Slaw:

  • 1/2 head Napa Cabbage, cut thinly
  • 1/4 head medium size red cabbage, cut thinly
  • 1 cup sugar peas
  • 1/2 cup cashew nuts
  • 1 avocado. diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, optional

Dressing:

  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped ginger
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup sesame oil
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper

Combine the slaw ingredients in a large salad bowl.

Prepare the salad dressing by combining the ingredients in a food processor or blender (or use an immersion blender) and process until smooth.
Refrigerate until needed.

Toss slaw with 1/2 cup dressing and serve.

Printable Recipe

I will be making this one again – and again!

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

