Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Bouyiourdi (Baked Spicy Feta)

Leave a comment

IMG_1286When my husband and I were in Athens after our cruise we ate in a little Greek restaurant and ordered a dish called bouyiourdi (pronounced a lot like boyardee).  It was a baked feta cheese appetizer served with toasted bread and pita bread.  My husband and I loved it and after returning home I wanted to try to make it as well.  It is a very easy appetizer to make.

 

 Baked Spicy Feta (Bouyiourdi)

Ingredients:

  • 1 block feta cheese
  • Sliced tomatoes
  • Sliced small Cherry peppers (4-6)
  • salt and oregano
  • chopped shallots
  • drizzle of Olive Oil

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 400F.

In a small baking dish place a layer of sliced tomatoes and cherry peppers.  Sprinkle with salt and oregano. Top with feta cheese.  Sprinkle with oregano.  Layer the top with more sliced tomatoes and cherry peppers and chopped shallots. Season with salt and oregano.  Drizzle with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Bake at 400F for 25 minutes.

Serve with toasted fresh bread or pita bread.  Great appetizer or lunch.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a comment