Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Chicken Thighs with Creamy Mustard Sauce

Leave a comment

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_16587

Recipes by Ina Garten are usually fool proof and delicious.  I have several of her cookbooks and the recipes are easy to follow and have tasty results.  Tonight I made her recipe for Chicken Thighs with Creamy Mustard Sauce.  I served it with cooked penne pasta.  I did not have parsley, so I used the fresh thyme I had instead.  Everyone loved the sauce and only has few ingredients.

Chicken Thighs with Creamy Mustard Sauce

adapted from Ina Garten | Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 8 chicken thighs
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 2 onions, peeled, cut in half and thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbsp white wine
  • 1 Tbsp stone ground mustard
  • 8 oz crème fraîche
  • fresh chopped thyme (or parsley)

Instructions:

Heat a 12 inch cast iron skillet over medium high heat.

Season the chicken thighs on both sides with salt and pepper.  Add one tablespoon of olive oil to the cast iron skillet and place the chicken thighs skin side down.  Cook for 15 minutes without moving the chicken reduce the heat to medium low if the chicken skin is browning too quickly.  After 15 minutes, turn the chicken over with tongs.  Add the sliced onions to the chicken and place some onions under the chicken thighs.  Cook an additional 15 minutes.  Test the done-ness of the thighs.  (The temperature should be 155 or 160 F). Remove the chicken to a platter when fully cooked.  If needed, cook the onions an additional minute to brown them.  Add white wine, mustard, crème fraîche and a teaspoon of salt to the skillet and stir to make a sauce.  Place the chicken breasts skin side up in the skillet and keep warm until your pasta is cooked.

Serve two chicken thighs with pasta and ladle mustard sauce over the chicken and pasta sprinkle with fresh thyme (or parsley).

Printable recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a comment