Goodcookbecky's Blog

Letting the juices of life (or food) drip from my chin!

Baked Oatmeal

Leave a comment

photoLast summer our family traveled to the East Coast to celebrate the 50 year anniversary of my parents.  It was also a joyous family reunion with my two brothers, whom I do not see very often.  We spent a few days in Lancaster PA together.  We stayed at a lovely bed and breakfast that was run by a Mennonite family.  One of their breakfast dishes was baked oatmeal.  I had never had it in this form before and really liked it a lot.  I recently found a recipe for baked oatmeal at a Bed and Breakfast site that also has recipes submitted by various bed and breakfast establishments around the country. This one is adapted from Blue Rock Bed and Breakfast.  I halved the recipe and then added a chopped honey crisp apple.  Next time I will also add raisins or dried cranberries and chopped pecans.

 

Baked Oatmeal

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 6 Tbsp canola oil
  • 6 Tbsp honey
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk (or coconut milk)
  • 1 sweet apple, peeled, cored and chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 cup raisins or dried cranberries (optional)
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a medium bowl, combine the oil, honey, and egg and beat together.  Add the remaining ingredients and stir to incorporate.

Spray a 8 x 8 inch Pyrex baking dish with cooking spray.  Pour the oatmeal mixture into the prepared baking dish. Bake at 350 F for 25-30 minutes.

Serve with milk.

Printable Recipe

Author: goodcookbecky

I am a home school mom of three wonderful kids. I have been married for over 20 years and am still in love. I love to cook, as a young child I enjoyed spending time with my mom in the kitchen and that love has grown into a passion. I started this blog to share my favorite recipes with friends and family and have enjoyed seeing it grow beyond those boundaries.

Leave a Reply

